Past Recipients of Awards for Achievement in PD


Photo Caption2017 Public Diplomacy Achievement Award winner Dolores Prin, second from right, at a school in Okinawa (U.S. Consulate General Naha)

The Public Diplomacy Achievement Awards are given each year to professionals in government agencies or non-government organizations whose work makes a difference in projecting American policies, ideas, and culture to the rest of the world. The awards are supported in part by private donations.


Awards for Achievement in Public Diplomacy:

Awards for Public Diplomacy Leadership by a Senior Officer


Public Diplomacy Section, Embassy Kyiv
Onur Dizdar, Cultural Affairs Assistant, Consulate General Istanbul 
Monica Sarmiento, Strategic Public Engagement Specialist, Embassy Mexico City
Mobile American Corner Team, Embassy Tirana


Public Affairs Section, U.S. Consulate General Hong Kong & Macau
Sohini Das, Public Engagement Specialist, U.S. Consulate General Kolkata
Public Affairs Section, U.S. Embassy Algiers
Allyson Hamilton-McIntire, Assistant Information Officer, U.S. Embassy Mexico City


Zennia Paganini, Public Affairs Officer, Yemen Affairs Unit (based at Embassy Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)
Public Affairs Section, Embassy Luanda, Angola
Meghan Luckett, Assistant Public Affairs Officer, Embassy Vilnius, Lithuania
Riad Yazbeck, Cultural Affairs Specialist, Embassy Beirut, Lebanon


Natella Svistunova, Public Affairs Officer, Embassy Belmopan, Belize
Debra Toribiong, Public Diplomacy Specialist, Embassy Koror, Palau
Chris Hodges, Public Affairs Officer, Consulate Jerusalem (now the Palestinian Affairs Unit, Embassy Jerusalem, Israel)
Niles Cole, Cultural Affairs Officer, Embassy Kampala, Uganda


Mark Bosse, Assistant Information Officer, U.S. Embassy Baghdad
Shim Jai Ok, Executive Director of the Korean-American Educational (Fulbright) Commission
Adrienne Bory, Information Officer, U.S. Embassy Panama
Public Affairs Section, U.S. Embassy Bangkok


Dolores Prin, U.S. Consulate General Naha, Okinawa
Justen Thomas, Deputy Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Havana
Lydia Barraza, Miami Media Hub Director
Jay Raman, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Phnom Penh
Alia Alkhraisha, Educational Adviser, U.E. Embassy Dubai


Tanya Brothen, Assistant Information Officer, U.S. Embassy Kabul
Stephen Ibelli, Public Affairs Officer, Libya External Office, based in Tunis
Brenda Soya, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Ouagadougou
Milica Raskovic and Marko Bumbic, Program Coordinators, American Corner in Novi Sad, Serbia


Jennifer Zimdahl Galt, Principal Officer, U.S. Consulate General Guangzhou, People’s Republic of China
Said [full name and position witheld], Afghanistan
Angela Palazzolo, Trade Officer, Political and Economic Section, U.S. Embassy Warsaw, Poland
Group Award:
Kimberly Phelan-Royston, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Conakry, Guinea
Emily Green, Assistant Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Conakry, Guinea
Hollyn Green, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Freetown, Sierra Leone
Sally Hodgson, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Monrovia, Liberia
Molly Lynn Westrate, Deputy Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Monrovia, Liberia


Attia Nasar, International Information Program, Department of State
Ajani Husbands, Public Affairs Officer, Islamabad, Pakistan
Rachel Goldberg, The Phillips Collection
Ashley White, Public Affairs Officer, Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Naimeh Hadidi, Cultural Affairs Specialist, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Morrison Mkhonta, Information Resource Center Director, Mbabane, Swaziland


Public Affairs Section, American Consulate Peshawar, Pakistan
Nini Forino, Public Diplomacy Officer for Korean Affairs and Yeosu Expo coordinator
Tashawna Bethea, Public Affairs Officer, Algiers


Heather Eaton, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Consulate General, Naha, Okinawa, Japan
Sharon Hudson-Dean, Counselor for Public Affairs, U.S. Embassy Harare, Zimbabwe
Jean Manes, Director of Resources, Office of Policy, Planning and Resources


Christopher Teal, Public Affairs Officer and Deputy Consul-General, Guadalajara, Mexico
Joann Lockard, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy in Kampala, Uganda
Albina Burashnikova, Nina Afanasyeva and Arzigul Kochkarova, American Corner Managers in Turkmenistan
Joseph Zilligen and Carla Benini, public diplomacy desk officers, Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs


Public Diplomacy Section, N’djamena, Chad
Alistair Baskey, Assistant Cultural Affairs Officer and America House Director, East Jerusalem
Tom Cooney, Public Affairs Officer, Shanghai
Aaron David Snipe, Public Diplomacy Officer, Provincial Reconstruction Team, Muthanna Province, Iraq


Ryan Rowlands, Public Affairs Officer and Amy Storrow, Assistant Public Affairs Officer, Skopje, Macedonia
Tristram Perry, Assistant Information Officer for Broadcast Media, Jakarta, Indonesia
Lori Brutten, George Clack and David Shelby of State Department’s Democracy Video Challenge Team


Jonathan Henick, Public Affairs Officer, Baku, Azerbaijan
Foreign Service National Staff, Rangoon, Burma (Myanmar)
Nicholas Papp, Cultural Affairs Officer and American Center Director, Taipei, Taiwan


Public Affairs Section Brasilia, Brazil
Wendy Lyle, ConGen Guangzhou


Victoria Sloan and Kaspars Ruklis, American Embassy Riga


Eric Johnson and Jonathan Mennuti, American Embassy Moscow


Gaston Lacombe, Educational Advisor, Riga
Karuna Singh, ConGen Calcutta


USIS Dar es Salaam and USIS Nairobi


USIS Luanda
USIS Ashgabat/USIS Dushanbe/RPO/NIS/Goble


USIS Port au Prince
I/GEU Team, Department of State


USIS Amman


USIS Buenos Aires


Foreign Service National Staff, USIS Rangoon